Review | The Patient by Jasper DeWitt

“Don’t all crazy people think they’re the rational ones?” 3.25/5 stars!

Attention! This book contains: kittens, diagnoses, tapes, medical records, walls, whispers, monsters and a lot of theories.

“A clever cocktail of psychological thriller and supernatural horror.” Kirkus

The Silent Patient by way of Stephen King: Parker, a young, overconfident psychiatrist new to his job at a mental asylum, miscalculates catastrophically when he undertakes curing a mysterious and profoundly dangerous patient.

In a series of online posts, Parker H., an ambitious young psychiatrist, chronicles the harrowing account of his time working at a dreary mental hospital in New England and his attempt to cure the facility’s most difficult, profoundly dangerous case.

Originally admitted to the hospital as a child, the man has no known diagnosis. Every person who has attempted to treat him has been driven to madness or suicide.

Parker, brilliant and overconfident, takes it upon himself to discover what ails this mystery patient and finally cure him. But things quickly spiral out of control …

Fans of Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes and Paul Tremblay’s The Cabin at the End of the World will be riveted by Jasper DeWitt’s astonishing debut.

PRAISE FOR THE PATIENT:

“A stunning debut! DeWitt’s The Patient is a thrilling, compulsive page-turner that will appeal to fans of F. Paul Wilson, Sarah Pinborough, and Alex Michaelides.” Brian Keene, bestselling author and World Horror Grandmaster Award winner

“‘Insidious evil’ is such an overused term, but there is no other way to describe what prowls the hallways of this riveting novella. A compulsive read I devoured in one day. And the ending … it still haunts me.” F. Paul Wilson, New York Times bestselling creator of the Repairman Jack series

The Patient is a fascinating and frightening read that comes at you like the monster under your bed.” Reed Farrel Coleman, New York Times bestselling author 

Heads up: unpopular opinion incoming! So… I was somewhat underwhelmed with this book. Unfortunately, there aren’t a lot of positive things I can say about this particular story, because the truth is that it just wasn’t a very memorable/special book.

It’s a horror/mystery book with some creepy moments here and there, but I didn’t love the plot. There were some things revealed at the end that I wish were more… realistic? And yes, I understand what the author was trying to do and I’m okay with the direction he decided to take. But with that said, I wish the execution was better. There were so many scenes here that didn’t make sense and didn’t connect to the story well. I’m sorry for not being specific, but I don’t want to spoil the story for you. I’ll just say that even though I understand the mysterious part, I wish it was done a bit differently. A great example of this was the part regarding what happened at Joe’s home (if you already read the book, you probably know what I’m talking about).

On a positive note, I really liked the book’s format. I liked the concept of a doctor writing about his experience with a patient in an online forum. It felt personal and realistic, and it was done beautifully. I was interested in what he was saying and it felt like there was a real online audience for the story.I still think it’s a quick and easy read, nice for a lazy weekend. But it’s not in any way, shape or form similar to The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides. So if you’re going into this with that in mind… you will probably be disappointed.

xoxo,

One thought on “Review | The Patient by Jasper DeWitt

  1. Pingback: Wrap-Up | What I Read in June 2021 – Sprayed Edges

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s