Review | The Silver Road by Stina Jackson

‘There’s something about death that gets under your skin and destroys you from the inside. Nobody warns you about it before you go. Nobody explains what happens to you once you’ve seen death first-hand, when you’ve stared it in the face. The way it kind of gets its claws into you. Becomes part of you.” 4/5 stars!

Attention! This book contains: cigarettes, bus stops, bunkers, photographs, farms, schoolwork, chickens, investigations, nudism, hair ties and scratches.

Three years ago, Lelle’s daughter went missing in a remote part of Northern Sweden. Lelle has spent the intervening summers driving the Silver Road under the midnight sun, frantically searching for his lost daughter, for himself and for redemption.

Meanwhile, seventeen-year-old Meja arrives in town hoping for a fresh start. She is the same age as Lelle’s daughter was – a girl on the brink of adulthood. But for Meja, there are dangers to be found in this isolated place.

As autumn’s darkness slowly creeps in, Lelle and Meja’s lives are intertwined in ways, both haunting and tragic, that they could never have imagined.

This compelling and haunting read is perfect for fans of Daniel Woodrell’s Winter’s Bone.

This book was a very pleasant surprise! 

What kept me so intrigued throughout this book was the suspense created by having two different storylines going on. It made me very curious to know when and where the stories would meet and what that would mean to the plot.

Another cool thing about this book is that there are a number of suspicious characters that could have committed the crime the book is about. There are several hints that appear casually for all of them, so you don’t know for sure who might have done it.

I figured out who did it about halfway through the book, but I admit it wasn’t easy because I felt like anyone could have done it!

It’s full of mystery and the eerie atmosphere of the woods made the book even creepier! I really liked this and I think this would be perfect to read when the weather starts to get cooler.

xoxo,

One thought on “Review | The Silver Road by Stina Jackson

  1. Pingback: Wrap-Up | What I Read in June 2021 – Sprayed Edges

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s